top of page

The Mysterious Benedict Society


The Mysterious Benedict Society

Trenton Lee Stewart

Middle Grade, Slight Sci-Fi, Adventure

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



"Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?"


When this peculiar ad appears in the newspaper, dozens of children enroll to take a series of mysterious, mind-bending tests. (And you, dear reader, can test your wits right alongside them.) But in the end just four very special children will succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and resourceful children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. As our heroes face physical and mental trials beyond their wildest imaginations, they have no choice but to turn to each other for support. But with their newfound friendship at stake, will they be able to pass the most important test of all?


 

I think this may just be one of my top 10 favorite books (don't ask me to name the other 9 XD). I've read it three times, listened to the audiobook once, and am reading it aloud to my little brother. I just... AH! I love this book. I loved it so much, I got a copy... IN GERMAN.



Plot: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



The plot was absolutely amazing. I really think this was one of the coolest plots ever in a book. I mean, secret messages, going undercover, thoughts being transmitted to your brain?! Eep! (Yes, it sounds creepy. No, I promise it's not!)

“You must remember, family is often born of blood, but it doesn't depend on blood. Nor is it exclusive of friendship. Family members can be your best friends, you know. And best friends, whether or not they are related to you, can be your family.” ~ Mr. Benedict

Characters:


If you need one reason to read this book, do it for the characters.


-Reynie-

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I gotta say it: This kid's a genius!!! I don't think I've ever read a book where the main character was so smart... but still relatable. And Reynie was. He had fears. He had doubts. He wasn't sure of himself. But what makes it all so cool, is that he pulls through it. And I love that.



-Sticky-

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Okay, yes, I do like Sticky, but he still isn't my absolute favorite. He has been through a lot. His character is really developed. And honestly? The team wouldn't stick (get it?) together without him. This kid's memory is like no one else. He reads 1,000-page books in 10 minutes. And everything he reads stick.



-Kate-

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

By far my favorite character in the whole book. Kate is just AWESOME! She's a bucket-wielding, marble-slinging firecracker with a knack for getting into tight spots (quite literally most of the time) and squeezing back out again—with plenty of time to spare. (Can you tell she's, my favorite?)



-Constance-

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Connie, Connie, quite contrary

How does your character grow? By rhyming words and no growth spurts And annoying people wherever I go.


Yeah, that's a bit of a stretch, but it works 😉. Even though Constance is usually crabby and quite contrary most of the time, she is so important. And I really do like her. She can be quite hilarious—when she's not thinking up nasty rhymes.



-Mr. Benedict-

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Okay, this guy is just so incredible. He is so kind, and brilliant, and funny. I think he was perfect for the children—just what they needed, right when they needed it.



-Mr. B's Adopted Family-

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

AKA, Rhonda, Number Two, and Milligan. I love all these guys. Rhonda Kazembe is pretty cool and balances out Number Two's snippety side when it occurs. Milligan's story is just so sad, but the ending is awesome.



“Why, then, do you think the white player might have done it?” Reynie considered. He imagined himself moving out his knight only to bring it right back to where it started. Why would he ever do such a thing? At last, he said, “Perhaps because he doubted himself.” ~ Mr. Benedict and Reynie



Romance:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What romance? Yup, not here!



Content Warnings:


There are several mentions of people getting (*SPOILER* brainswept *END SPOILER*), and Kate mentions dead bodies a few times. In the begining (*SPOILER* men known as Recruiters kidnap Constance and shock her with their shock watched *END SPOILER*). Reynie uses the expression, "You devil", and Number Two says, "Speak of the devil." There are several mentions of kidnapping and the phrase "the missing aren't missing, they're only departed." Milligan relates a story where he was (*SPOILER* kidnapped and he got slapped, ripped off his toenails, and was brainswept *END SPOILER*) Also, in one scene in (*SPOILER* Mr. Curtains Office *END SPOILER*), Martina asks what certain drains are for and S.Q. tells her that (*SPOILER* the office used to be a butchery and the gallons of blood that came from the animals were washed down the drain and attrackted sharks to the outside. *END SPOILER*). Kate imagines that there are sharks and that they will (*SPOILER* Drag her underwater to drown *END SPOILER*)


NOTE: I know that seems like a lot of content, but please try to keep in mind that I have to say it as is, even if the author handled everything in a very tasteful and classy way <3


Age Range:


10+. This is supposed to be a Middle Grade, but I think that anyone would enjoy it!


My Thoughts:


I love this book. I stay up late reading it to my brother. I think the writing style is brilliant and the descriptions are *chef's kiss* superb! and even though this is slightly suspenseful, it feels like I'm coing home every time I read it. It fills me with a warmth that not a lot of other books do.


I hope you decide to read it.


And I hope you love it too.


Add it to your Goodreads here -> The Mysterious Benedict Society <-

Get it from Amazon -> The Mysterious Benedict Society <-


That's it for today, folks! I hope you enjoyed it 😁

Tallyho!

Deigan

Recent Posts

See All

6 comentários


Ava Coulter
Ava Coulter
16 de jan. de 2023

Ahh, I really need to read this! I've been eyeing it for a while now. Lovely review, Deigan!

Curtir
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
16 de jan. de 2023
Respondendo a

It's a really good book! I would highly recommend it!! Thanks, Ava! 🥰

Curtir

Convidado:
16 de jan. de 2023

It's so sweet that you read this to your little brother. ❤️ Will you be reading the other books in the series as well?

Curtir
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
16 de jan. de 2023
Respondendo a

Aww, thank you! I'm hoping to read the rest of them to him as well! (I've already read them all 😁)

Curtir

Abigail Harris
Abigail Harris
14 de jan. de 2023

I really want to read this one!

Curtir
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
16 de jan. de 2023
Respondendo a

Oh, you should! It's really incredible!

Curtir
Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page