top of page

We Could be Villains


We Could be Villians

Megan McCullough

Superhero Sci-Fi

⭐⭐⭐⭐



Avoid spoilers. Don’t get fired. Defeat a not-so-fictional supervillain?


Seventeen-year-old fangirl Rosemary Collins lives for VIGIL & ANTE Studios movies. From action-packed superhero fights to sweet character moments, she’s here for it all. But in a real-life crossover no one saw coming, the fandom’s heartthrob supervillain, Ironfall, isn’t as fictional as the film studio wants her to believe. Beyond the glamorous red carpet lies the government’s most guarded secret: the movies are real.


Armed with a devilish grin and a wit as sharp as his knives, Ironfall needs her help, and refusing means he’ll kill her parents. Her only other option involves spying on him for the government’s secret superhero division. Suspended between fact and what she thought was fiction, Rosemary must join her heroes and create an impenetrable web of lies—or guarantee her parents’ safety as she watches the world burn at its adored villain’s hand.


Perfect for fans of pop culture and comics, WE COULD BE VILLAINS packs an entire cinematic universe into a book. Join Rosemary and the not-so-fictional heroes (and villains!) of the VIGIL & ANTE films in this imaginative science fiction where superhero battles equal publicity stunts, fictional characters become family, and the villain just might steal your heart.


 

Need I say anymore?! Eep, this book! I recently squealed about it in my Life Update + December Goals post, and decided it needed its whole own post wink 😉. So without further ado, my fangirling—ehem, I mean my review.



Plot:

⭐⭐⭐⭐



I may or may not have read the book for the sole reason of the hype. 👀 But, seriously, have any of y'all seen Megan's Instagram reels about it? I was so intrigued by the whole "The movies are actually real", and the superhero angle too. And, c'mon. VIGIL & ANTE studios? EEP!! Yes, please! (And just saying, I need this in movie version too.)

"But getting killed by the one and only Ironfall would be a pretty cool way to die.” ~We Could be Villains

Characters:


-Rosemary-

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I loved this girl. You know what I loved about her? That she was a real person with real struggles. I see way to often in books where the main characters aren't relatable at all, and they aren't really people. But I loved seeing that she was so real and did have her own pain and feelings.



-IRONFALL-

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

(He's so cool, he gets all caps 😉) Ooooh, this kid. *Sobs* I have a past with absolutely loving villains (well, some of them anyway). And lemme tell ya: Ironfall is the ultimate villain. He's smart, brilliant, incredibly handsome (and he knows it), and all the things. And... he was real. He totally struggled with having terrible parents, and a muddled-up past, and UGH! If I fangirl anymore, I'll give something away.



-Sam-

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

*Snorts* I need an entire book just about SAM! Sam fills the roll of nerdy computer-geek, guardian of VIGIL memes, and the ultimate annoying side-character. He was so. Dang. FUNNY! Every scene with him in was just hilarious. I need more of him!! You can never have too much Sam. In fact, I think he needs his own book.



-The VIGIL team-

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

And, because I can't leave without mentioning these guys, a round of applause for the incredible team VIGIL! Agent Liam is awesome, Manda is the coolest, Ver is just so cool, and Cloaker. CLOAKER!!!! All of these guys deserve a round of applause... or two.



Romance:

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Megan describes the relationship (*spoiler* between Rosemary and Ironfall *end spoiler*) as "Enemies to... something." There is definitely something there, but whether it's a full-on romance... only time will tell. 😉 But, I am 100% behind the ship (*spoiler* Irondust/Starfall *end spoiler*)



Content Warnings:

While I wouldn't classify this as a violent book, there were a few scenes, including where several people get shot; some die; Rosemary gets slightly freaked out (*spoiler* when she thinks someone breaks into her house *end spoiler*), and then again when she thinks that (*spoiler* Ironfall is going to kill Sam *end spoiler*); the word 'cr*p(py) and fr*akin' were used; Rosemary's (*spoiler* Mother threatens to shoot Rosemary, and then gets shot herself *end spoiler*); and there wasn't that great of a relationship between Rosemary and her parents.


Age Range:

14+, but this really depends on how sensitive the reader is, and what their standards are :)


My Thoughts:

Ahh, this book! I've never watched Marvel, but this book totally gave me Marvel-type vibes! I barely put it down till I had read the last page! I would so recommend this to anyone who likes Sci-Fi, Superheroes, and Found Family!



Add it to your Goodreads here -> We Could be Villains | Goodreads <-

Get it from Amazon -> We Could be Villains <-


And that's all for now! I really hope you read and love this book. If you do, feel free to let me know! If you haven't but wanted, let me know that too!

Tallyho!

Deigan

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page