top of page

Q&A with Isabelle Hernandez!!



Hey all, and welcome back! For today's Q&A with a young writer, I have the pleasure of talking with Isabelle Hernandes! Isabelle, thank you so much!


Q: So, for starters, how long have you been writing?

A: To be honest? I don’t really know! Ever since I can remember, I’ve always loved books and making up and writing my own stories. And a few years ago, was when I actually thought of the possibility of becoming an author.


Q: What’s your favorite thing about being a writer?

A: There are so many things I love about it! Creating worlds, characters, plots! But, my favorite thing about it is that I get to celebrate and share God’s word and creation through my writing. Because after all, God is the greatest storyteller and has written the story of our lives.


Q: What genre do you primarily write in?

A: Most of the time I write in fantasy! Especially medieval fantasy. And sometimes I enjoy writing stories that are realistic and that occur in modern times. Sooner or later I will start writing in multiple genres!


Q: What is your most current work-in-progress about?

A: Ahh, my WIP is a bit of a mess right now! And I’m currently brainstorming ideas for another story. But my WIP is centered around a young boy who’s grown up in poverty and works as a guard for the future king of Elmsburg. Though the plot has many holes, it’s coming together!


Q: How do you deal with writers’ block when it comes on?

A: Ugh, writer's block is the WORST. I try to take my mind off the writing that’s struggling me and work on another project. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. Though, it’s a good thing to not get discouraged and keep striving.


Q: What are some of your favorite writing resources?

A: Hmmm… The Young Writers Workshop (or Ydubs) is a big help to my writing. It’s a great place to interact with other fellow writers, gain encouragement and confidence in your writing and receive help, tips and ideas! As well as feedback.

I also use the dictionary app to look up words to use in my stories and even find synonyms. It’s very helpful!


Q: And finally, if you could give one tip to any writer, what would it be?

A: Always have courage and confidence in your writing. Never give up. Even if you think your writing seems terrible, always remember that nothing is perfect. And as you keep striving and persevering in your writing, you will be glad to notice how much you’ve improved! And most likely you will. So, keep writing and don’t lose hope.


Well, Isabelle, thank you so, so much for letting me ask you questions! And that's a rap for today, folks! :D


Tallyho!

Deigan


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page