top of page

Open the Present, See What's Inside! | Holiday Gift Ideas for Readers and Writers


*fluffs garland and sips hot cocoa* Tis that time of the year again! The time for fuzzy blankets and peppermint sticks. The time for watching White Christmas and The Grinch.


. . . Tis also the time for shopping-induced headaches.


😣😫🎁🤯💥


(^^Those emojis pretty accurately sum up my feelings about the shopping aspect.)


Now, don't get me wrong - I love giving gifts. Like, loooove giving gifts. It's coming up with gift ideas to give that gives me the headache.


And readers and writers are some of the hardest people to gift anything to. Do they like, I dunno, do anything besides writing? Could I maybe give them the number to a physcologist?


So, to save y'all the trouble and Asprin tablets, I thought I'd put together a small little list of things that us weird breed of readers and writers actually enjoy getting (medical bill not included 😉). There's not a lot, but I hope some of them are useful!




For Readers


1 | A BOOK!

I'm not even kidding when I say that books are probably the least-given gifts among us book nerds. Why is that? Well, maybe the person giving the gifts doesn't know our preferences well enough to guess on a book and hope we enjoy it. (Except our awesome nerdy friends and wonderful family. Y'all know me waaaay to well for this ever to be a challenge.) So how do we remedy this? Check their Goodreads page! Stalk their social media! Ask someone else close to them what they enjoy and look for in a book. You could even one-up this by getting a book you already know they love and getting it autographed. (Trust me, the look of surpirse and joy on their face will be worth the double copy. And, if you're anything like me, collecting extra copies of books you already have is kinda a hobby.)






2 | BOOK-THEMED CANDLES

Trust me - burning a candle themed to The Wonderland Trials while reading the book is an experience that makes my day. 🥰 A few shops to try would be:


3 | FUZZY SOCKS

Because yes, every reader needs a pair of thick, cozy socks. <3 And you can find some really cute ones by going to Pinterest and searching "reader sock ideas". Most of them will include links to buy them, too!



4 | BOOK TABS

These. Things. Are. AMAZING. They're see-through colored annotating tabs that you can use to mark your favorite sentences/quotes/apargraphs/etc. in a book. I got a set for a reading challenge and used about half of them tabbing up The False Prince. #noregrets.


5 | GIFT CARD TO A BOOKSTORE

The wonderful thing about giftcards is that you can use them online as well as in-person! So, if your givee happens to live in an out-of-the-way town in the middle of NoWhere, USA, a giftcard to a small bookstore in a town they've never been too. Plus, helping out small store owners is always a plus. 😉




For Writers


1 | A . . . BOOK

C'mon, how many of you were surprised by this one? We're authors. Of course we love books!


2 | NOTEBOOKS & PENS

Any shape, color, brand, or size. Writers. Need. NOTEBOOKS AND PENS. Of course, if you happen to know what our favourite brand/style is, that's always a plus. I personally love GreenRoom notebooks and UBrand pens. *chef's kiss* (*hint hint* 😉)





3 | SNACKS

Yes, food. Chococlate, tea, instant coffee, on-the-go hot chocolate . . . we need it all. A friend once sent me a packacge of Starbucks PSL blend and mini Milky Ways in a box. They are now my go-to writer snacks.


4 | LITERALLY EVERYTHING ON THE READER LIST

Because, chances are, writers are gonna be readers. There will be your exception here and there, but that's where nowing your giftee can come in handy.




And that's it! Told you there wasn't much. 😉 I hope something on here was helpful!


What was your favourite item? What would you have added? Favourite snack? Have you ever bought themed-candles? I'd really love to know! <3


Cheers!


Recent Posts

See All
Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page