top of page

My Top 5 Favorite Classics



Is it just me, or is literary fiction/classics such an underrated genre?


I feel like more and more I see that people are pushing away the classics and reading action-packed, entertainment-based stories. (Now, there is nothing wrong with reading action-packed stories, or fiction books, or fantasy or anything like that. I love reading those genres too! This is not a post attacking them/putting them down; I am just stating an observation 😊.)


So, I thought that I would share with y'all my top 5 favorite classics of all time! I will be going in order of opinions, ending with my absolute favorite. So, let's get going!


#5:


Little Women

Louisa May Alcott


I don't think there was ever a time when I didn't know the story of Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy March. I've been watching the movie since I was really little and have read the book multiple times. In fact, the morning of my birthday, my mom used to wake me up and put this on to watch together. On my twelfth birthday, I got a beautiful, old, hardcover copy of it. I don't know why, but this story just fills me with a sense of nostalgia. Every chapter reminds me of something different, something special. I really should reread this book.



Pride & Prejudice

Jane Austen


Oh man, this book . . . I first attempted to read this when I was 10 . . . yeah, bad idea. Because I never go past the sixteenth chapter. A few years later, I tried again and got through it in 5-6 months. A while after that, I heard there was a movie. E'scuse me, what? I need this! I watched the 2005 version AND FELL IN LOVE. I reread the book (for a fourth time, at this point 😜), and was able to picture it so much better in my mind! I knew what the characters looked like, I could picture their voices in my head, see the scenes clearly in my minds' eye. (Don't even ask me how many times I've watched the movie 👀🙈🙊.) And now, I am planning on going through it again with a really pretty book study. I cannot wait!



Treasure Island

Robert Louis Stevenson


I have a thing with pirates. Seriously. I have at least 5 works-in-progress that have pirates in them. (No, I am not joking.) The first time I read this was when my mom first read this out loud to me and my siblings. I loved it. It was brilliantly written; the descriptions were beautiful. Wow. I should reread this one too. (Along with his other stories in that huge and very beautiful leather-bound classic collection 😏.)


Eight Cousins

Louisa May Alcott


Yes, another Alcott book. What can I say? I love her writing! And I love this story even more than Little Women! I don't know why—maybe it's the characters, maybe the writing or the setting. But I love the story and reread a few months ago . . . in two days 👀.



Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Lewis Carroll


Yes, Alice. Are we shocked? NO. Pretty sure that I can safely say that this is the best classic ever written in the history of ever (in my opinion 😉). I also grew up watching the animated Disney version of this story. What is it that I love about this story? I guess . . . I just love that everything impossible in possible, and nothing is ever as it seems. I just . . . yeah, I can't even say why I love this so much. I just do.





Well, there you go, y'all! My top five favorite classics of all time! I had a lot of fun making this post; I hope you enjoyed reading it!


Have you read any of them? What are your favorite classics? Let me know in the comments below!


Cheers!


Recent Posts

See All
Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page