top of page

Mid-Year Book FREAK OUT Tag



Hello, hello, people! By the time you read this, I will be reading my Bible at the conference-site in Tennessee. Today's the last day. Wow. It's so weird to think about that.


*clears throat*


Anywho, I've seen this tag floating around in the blogging and BookTubing world, and so I thought I would give it shot! I know, I know, it's technically over half-way through the year . . . but still. 😜 Let's get into it!


(But first a smoll announcement: I will be doing a full recap of the YWW Conference 2023 in my newsletter! If you want to see that, you can subscribe here! <3 Hope to see you on my contact list! https://mailchi.mp/c1274944c2ea/deigan-marie)






Hmm . . . this is a hard one. I've read 197 books so far this year, and there have been so. Many. Good. Ones!! But I'm probably going to have to say The Looking-Glass Illusion by Sara Ella. 😍🥺🥳🤩😱😭🥰🥰🥰🥰🥰


I got the immense pleasure to read an e-ARC of this book . . . *screams* Aaaaahhh, it was amazing!!!! Y'all, please go preorder this book.


Please.



2 | BEST SEQUEL YOU'RE READ SO FAR THIS YEAR


*Ccughs and points up* Seriously, thoughhh. It was SOOO GOOD. It wrapped up everything SO well, and all the characters were just precious and Chess--CHESSSSS!!!


(Let's see how many times I can stick this book into a category. XD)



Okay, I am honestly horrible at keeping track of new releases, so . . . I really can't say truthfully for the traditional books. There is one indie book that you may have seen around that I want to get to soon: Identity by Annabel Batie. It looks so good! *ticks off points* It has mermaids, it's an indie, it's written by a young author. *throws up hands* Sold!


4 | MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR


(This makes three . . .) The Looking-Glass Illusion. I seriously already have it preordered. And even though I've read it already . . . I STILL NEED IT ON MY SHELF!!






*sobs* I'm so sad about this, but I had to DNF Held Captive by Grace Johnson. It was just . . . too romancey for my taste, and it just wasn't my cup of tea. I have heard around that Grace is planning on re-publishing a re-vamped version of it, so I'm keeping my eyes out for that!!


6 | BIGGEST SURPRISE


Lady Carliss and the Waters of Moorue by Chuck Black . . . this was both a surprise in it wasn't as entertaining/enjoyable as I hoped it would be, but it was also better that I thought, if that makes sense. XD



Definitely Erynn Mangum. She's a new favourite, but Sara Ella still claims the position of all-time favourite. 😉


8 | NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH


*coughs* who came up with these questions?! 😆 I very rarely get book crushed easily now that I'm older, but . . . I do have to say I adored Kit in *cough* The Looking-Glass Illusion *cough* He was a great character, okay?! 🤣






*ponders* I re-fell in love with Chess and Alice (at this point do I even have to say a title? 🤭), but I also found out how much I loved Knave, and Kit was a doll.


I also really loved Paige Alder from Paige Torn. 🥰 She's amazing.


10 | BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY


*mumbles* The Looking-Glass Illusion. That books RUINED me, y'all. I was sobbing SO. STINKING. HARDDD!! Like, whyyyy?!?!?!? 😭😭😭😭 But, awwwww . . . 🥰🥰🥰



Paige Torn by Erynn Mangum. This book just gave me all the vibes. I was laughing all the way through it, and it was just such a fun book.



12 | MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU'VE BOUGHT SO FAR THIS YEAR (OR RECIEVED)


I'm not even gonna say it . . . but y'all know . . . 👀






*sighs* I suppose I should choose something other than what I've already said a million times. 😆 Definitely need to read the new Seize the World anthologies (Seize the Fight & Seize the Moment), and I would love to finish the Paige Alder series too. Fawkes is on my November TBR, and I also am planning on reading The Looking-Glass Illusion when I get it. (*gosp* I said it again!) I also have a copy of With Eyes of Blue by Erin Hylands that I want to get to. I also want to read a few classics this year (so far, I'm at three). Little Women needs to be read before Christmas, and Robin Hood is an absolute must. And then, of course, if I do a book haul . . . 👀 But that's all that I can think of right now!




Now for my tags . . .


Ava Coulter @ avacoulterauthor.com

Allyson Jamison @ allysonjamison.wordpress.com

And anyone else who wants to!! (:





Well, that's it for today folks! I hope you have an absolutely lovely rest of your day!


What was your favourite question? What was your favourite answer? What are YOUR answers to the questions? HAVE YOU PRE-ORDERED THE LOOKING GLASS ILLUSION YET? I'd love to know! <3


Cheers!


P.S.: I'm really sorry if this sound like

I'm out of it . . . I woke up at 5:00 . . . 🥴 . . . don't judge. 😆

Recent Posts

See All

14 opmerkingen


Gast
22 aug. 2023

I like the favorite new author question, and your answer to #12 was my favorite. 😆 I think you ought to keep waking up at 5. Kept me laughing all the way. 😜 I'M JOKING. Not about the laughing part--you were the amazing & hilarious Deigan I know--but about the 5 a.m. part. 😂 These are some pretty interesting book titles. I'm planning on reading a bunch of classics by the end of the year. 👀 Let's just say I don't know how that's going to turn out . . . My answers to the question? I'll just have to do a post sometime. 😏 I haven't gotten The Looking Glass Illusion . . . . Neither of the books sound like…

Like
Gast
22 aug. 2023
Reageren op

Oh, and I tagged you for The Jumbled Mess Blog Tag. 😇 Have fun! ~Vonnie

Like

Issabelle Perry
Issabelle Perry
14 aug. 2023

Okay, if I wasn't already wanting to read The Wonderland Trials and the Looking Glass Illusion, I most definitely would after reading this post. ;) I just love your excitement over the series!!! Now I've just gotta get a copy of it. XD I LOVED reading your post!!! Erynn Mangum is another author on my (very long) list of authors to try out!! And, girl, YoU hAvEn'T rEaD fAwKeS yEt?!?!?! It's one of my all-time favorites so I can't wait to see what you think of it too!!!! Thank you SO much for the tag!!! I was actually gonna steal it from another blogger, but now I get to do it the honorable way by being officially tagged!!! 😂

Like
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
14 aug. 2023
Reageren op

Aw, yayyy!!! Oh no, I have read Fawkes!! But I want to reread it in Novemeber. ;) Awww, yay! I'm so glad!! <33

Like

Gast
11 aug. 2023

Ooh, you read Lady Carliss!! Have you ready any other books by Chuck Black?

—Leah Grace

The Grace Haus

Like
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
14 aug. 2023
Reageren op

Yes, I did! Only the other Knights books before that, and Kingdom's Dawn.

Like

Gast
11 aug. 2023

Loved reading this💖

Like
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
14 aug. 2023
Reageren op

I'm so glad you liked it! <3

Like

Gast
11 aug. 2023

I really love this post! It sounds cool! I'm definitely going to have to try this sometime, it sounds so fun!

Like
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
14 aug. 2023
Reageren op

Aw, you're welcome! I'm so glad you liked it! <3

Like
Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page