top of page

Meet the Story | Project: STELLA

If you've heard me talk about writing, I'm sure you're also heard me mention my current project, which I'm calling STELLA right now. (Because I love the secrecy, hehe. đŸ€«đŸ€đŸ˜‰) I mostly only make reference to it on my blog, but over on my newsletter, it's been taking up quite a bit of section space. And I figured it was about time I gave you guys over here a taste of this story too. 😉


(HUGE shoutout to Mac, who did this for two of her projects [The Hunted and PROJECT: Volt & Co.] and inspired me to create my own! <3)


NOTE: For personal reasons, this post is probably going to be pretty cryptic when it comes to what the story is about. ;) <3



Project: STELLA


What do you do when your very existence is illegal?


Rhea has a secret, one that must be guarded at all costs. But in her country of Alcina, to possess such a secret as hers means imprisonment at best. At worst? A death sentence.


When the king sends out a proclamation, demanding all eligible young maidens to present themselves to the castle in Aysel with the possibility of wedding the prince, Rhea senses danger. Her trepidation is proven correct when, on her journey to the castle, she is waylaid by men who seek the throne of Alcina for their own selfish gains. All they ask is that Rhea be chosen to marry Crown Prince Ayden. . . and then kill him. And if she doesn’t? Her secret will be exposed to the whole country.


Secrets haunt and danger abounds in this Esther-inspired epic fantasy where standing up is an unwritten law of its own, and embracing who you were made to be just might end in death.


🌙🌙🌙


If the above HTML doesn't work, copy and paste the following link into your browser: https://www.canva.com/design/DAGMdQY6e1Q/ym9AaXXgRMoHACGuZdLd-w/watch


🌙🌙🌙


rhea



1 | Do you believe in true love?

I do . . . in others. I saw the most beautiful connection between my mother and father, and it broke our family in two when we lost her. But concerning true love for me . . . I can't see myself as anything other than the mother/older sister in my family.


2 | Who is the person that you respect the most and why?

My father. Having seen him walk through so much and still come out with light in his eyes on the other side was one of the most impowering things I could've witnessed as a young girl who'd just lost her mother.


3 | Are you generally a messy or organized person?

Can I cheat and say both? Growing up with three brothers, messes are a part of life. I tend to like my space clean, but that doesn't always happen.


4 | What is something you want to accomplish in your lifetime?

To be able to look back and say that I wasn't ashamed of who I was.


5 | If you could go back in time to one day, what day would it be and why?

Really any day before Mama died. I miss her so much.



🌙🌙🌙


ayden


1 | Do you believe in true love?

snorts I'm quite sorry, but my responsibility as Crown Prince requires advantage in a marriage, not love.


2 | Who is the person that you respect the most and why?

Rhea. But don't tell her I said that.


3 | Are you generally a messy or organized person?

If we're referring to objects, I like my possessions organized and neat. But if we're referring to me emotionally . . . I'm a mess.


4 | What is something you want to accomplish in your lifetime?

To be half the ruler my father is.


5 | If you could go back in time to one day, what day would it be and why?

If I could stay the same age I am now, I'd go back to when the Maker first decided to place me on this earth and ask, "Why me?"



🌙🌙🌙



the first few paragraphs



Why does it seem like my life is only ever full of pain?

I cling to my mother’s clammy hand, tears streaming down my face. “Mama,” I whisper. “Please. Don’t go.”

Mama’s eyes flicker open and scan my face. “Oh, my love.” Her voice is soft, and scares me. “I’m sorry . . . I must.”

I press her hand to my cheek, tears sliding over her fingers and dribbling onto the bed. “No—you can’t—I won’t let you.”

“It’s time my dear . . .”

“Then let me come with you,” I say, brows pressing together.

“You . . . must stay here . . . my love.” Each word is full of pain and a sheen of sweat glistens on her forehead from the effort of speaking. “I need you . . . to take care of your father . . . your brothers . . . the baby . . .”

Pain ricochets through my soul. I can’t tell her Isla is already dead.

“Alright, Mama.” I squeeze my eyes closed and intake a shuddering breath. “I promise.”

Mama suddenly gasps and sits up straight on the cot.

I jerk back, eyes wide. “Mama?” 

“The bread,” she murmurs, blinking rapidly. “I left . . . the bread . . .” Then she falls back against the pillows, eyes empty, gaze distant. “Don’t . . . forget it . . .” she murmurs as her eyes slip closed. 

“Mama?” I blink rapidly and reach out a shuddering hand to touch her shoulder.

She doesn’t move. 

My mama is dead. 

And it’s all my fault.


🌙🌙🌙


the playlist





🌙🌙🌙


theme song





🌙🌙🌙


That's it for today! This was kind of a "spur of the moment" post idea because #uncoordinated and #itemporarilyforgotihaveablog. 🙊🙈 Hehe?


What did you think of the post? Should I do more like these in the future? What was something you think I should've added?


Cheers!

.

.

.

A little BTS:

In the midst of putting together the character profiles, I could be heard rummaging through my many, many notebooks for this storyworld, muttering to myself, "I need to find the other profiles I did so I can make these profiles for my characters and make sure I actually know what I'm talking about." The life of a writer, what can I say? 😂

49 views

Recent Posts

See All

8 comentĂĄrios


Convidado:
20 de ago.

This was so fun to read! You should definitely write more!

Curtir

Ava Hope
Ava Hope
12 de ago.

shrieks Oh my goodness! Deig! This looks like such a stunning story! And a fantasy retelling of Esther?? That sounds so powerful. I’m in love with this already, the aesthetic, the characters, the hint of theme, THE SNIPPET
 đŸ„°đŸ€©

Thank you so much for sharing this! I can’t wait to read it one day.

Also, your character profile struggle, I feel thatđŸ€Ł

Editado
Curtir

Convidado:
02 de ago.

Wow, this sounds so cool!!! I want to read it so bad!! Excited for when this is published!😃

~Maya Pawley

Editado
Curtir
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
05 de ago.
Respondendo a

Thank you so much, Maya!! That means so much to me. 😊 I'm so glad you enjoyed it. <3

Curtir

Sienna W
Sienna W
02 de ago.

Ahhhh! I want to read itttt đŸ„čđŸ€©âœš This was a lovely post, Deigan!

Curtir
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
05 de ago.
Respondendo a

Eep, Sienna! I'm so glad!! đŸ„° Thank you so much, I'm so glad you enjoyed it! <3

Curtir

Lela Young
Lela Young
02 de ago.

gasps I shall reserve a spot on my bookshelf for when the day you publish this comes.

Curtir
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
05 de ago.
Respondendo a

Aw, Lelaaa. đŸ„ș Thank you, girl! I'm so glad you liked it! <3

Curtir
Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page