top of page

It's the Write Life | My Writing Routines and How to Create Your Own


Happy New Year, friend! Can you believe it's already 2024? Ahh! I sure can't!


I thought it was about time I did a post like this - what after my day in the life posts last summer and all. I also got a nudge after seeing the lovely and amazing Ava Hope do one over on her blog. So, I finally sat down and decided to write one.


First thing you should know is that I have very loose writing routines, meaning that they are subject to change, and often do depending on what kind of a day I'm having. I also have different writing routines for different times of the day, different books I'm writing, etc. Today, though, I'm going to be showing my morning, afternoon, and evening routines according to my most current project. Let's get started, shall we?





morning.


December and January around my house are pretty busy. Almost all of my siblings and both of my parents have their birthday within these months. As such, our schedules have been a little wonky. I've also been waking up and going to bed a lot later than normal. 😬 Whups? But here's what my ideal (and realistic) morning has been looking like:


I've usually been getting up at anywhere from 7:00-8:30. After taking a minute to roll my shoulder or stretch slightly, I brew a nice cup of tea and sit down with my morning basket. After reading a few chapters of my Bible plus a psalm or two, I like to write a list in my planner of what I need to do that day - which includes writing. Then, I brew another cup of tea (this one with caffeine), pull out my plethora of papers and notebooks, and write until breakfast.





afternoon.


Sometimes, though, I'm not able to touch my story until the afternoon. What that's the case, I like to wait until either after lunch, or after I've made myself a quick snack like a smoothie or some toast. My go-to writing spot lately has actually been my bedroom floor. My desk is rather small - which I love - but this particular story requires a lot space to brainstorm, plot, and write. Plus, at around 2:00-2:30, glorious sun is streaming in through the south-western window on right onto my spot on the floor. These days, my writing has been going rather slowly and it takes me about an hour to get a thousand words. It's rather nice, though, and I've been enjoying being more intentional about the words I write. Perfect for the slower season we're in.


Sometimes in the middle of writing, I'm able to break for a snack or some pilates to get my body moving. (I've been loving this video for forward neck posture.) When I re-hit the books, (or rather, the book), I sometimes treat myself to a candle and a playlist.





evening.


When neither morning nor afternoon are right for me, that's when I'll resort to writing at night. (Which, I'll be honest, is my favourite time to write. 🤩) And usually, it's pretty late. after dinner is done and the house is tidy, I'll escape to my bed with a cup of (you guessed it) it and settle down to decompress and write a bit. Sometimes it's my current story, but most times it's just an entry or poem in my journal. If I am able to pull out my story, I won't read through what I've previously written or skim through my summary and notes, as I find it wakes my brain too much. I'll just write until my mug of tea runs out, or until my siblings yell at me to go to bed. Once everything's put away and the lights are out, I'll do a few deep breathing exercises with my eyes closed a pray a bit before I lie down. I find it really helps me to shut my brain off and relax my body.





how to create your own.


1 | STUDY SOMEONE ELSE'S

My writing routines have been a long time in the making. And it changes - in some degree - almost every season. But I have found that studying other author and creator's routines give me some really great and solid ideas for my own. Here are a few of my favourite ladies who have inspired me:


2 | TAKE INTO ACCOUNT YOUR SCHEDULE

As much as I would love to, I don't write all day, every single day. (Hence the reason for multiple routines.) I have family responsibilities, commitments to friends, a blog to run, animals to take care of, and my own health and self-care to think about. Some days, I don't write at all. And that's okay! Take into account your own responsibilities and commitments, and work around those.


3 | MAKE IT SPECIAL

I used to loathe getting up early. But now? Now, I look forward to being alone in the living room with my tea, my story, and my cat. (Who has currently melted onto my lap and is refusing to leave.) Same with my afternoon and nighttime routine. There is something special in each time so I can enjoy and look forward to the hours spent with my story. For me, it's a special tea blend, or a candle and a playlist. Sometimes I'll scroll through my Pinterest boards and make a collage. But whatever I do, I make sure it's related to the story, and brings me joy.





And that's it for this week's post! I hope it gave you a little insight into the writing side of my life, and maybe inspired you to create your own routine.


What was your favourite routine? Do YOU have a writing routine? Is tea the best, or is it the best? How is your 2024 going? I'd really love to know!


Cheers!



76 views

Recent Posts

See All
Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page