top of page

It's Okay to Take a Break | Nine Reminders for Writers



Hey. *sits next to you and bumps your shoulder with mine* I'm not sure what you're going through right now, but I'd love it if you gave me a minute to tell you a few things.


Okay?


Here goes . . .





REMINDER #1 | IT'S OKAY TO NOT WRITE IN A POPULAR GENRE


I see this so much. People going against their beliefs and convictions to write in a hot genre. Trust me when I say the temporary gain you may get from writing a genre popular by the world's standards is not worth it in the long run.


REMINDER #2 | TAKE AS LONG AS YOU NEED TO FINISH YOUR STORY


A lot of writers seem to think that because they are taking their time writing, it means their doing something wrong. Well, let me tell you something else. Anyone here ever heard of Nadine Brandes? *looses track of raised hands* Now how many of you have read A Time to Die? Or Wishtress? *sees more hands* Do you know how long it took her to write A Time to Die? Seven years. S e v e n. And Wishtress took five. Y'all . . . take your time.


REMINDER #3 | WRITE THE STORY GOD HAS PUT ON YOUR HEART


God gives different people stories for different reasons. The story He has given me to write will not be the same as the story He has laid on your heart. And that's okay. What is it I'm always saying? Only you can write your story. Not me. Not Joe from across the street. Not Burt from accounting. Only. You.





REMINDER #4 | SEEK HIM IN ALL YOU DO


Trust me when I say God wants to be a part of your writing journey. A story written without Him is a story that won't succeed. Not in the long run, at least. talk to Him about everything. E.v.e.r.y.t.h.i.n.g. Want to know what I talk to God about? I can give you a list.

  • writers' block

  • new story ideas

  • sharing WIPs with people

  • naming characters

  • that really, really stubborn side character that showed up halfway between the inciting incident and the midpoint, backstory intact, who wants to steal the story

Really. Seek Him. He will answer.


REMINDER #5 | A ONE-STAR REVIEW IS NOT A BAD THING


Negativity--especially about your story, your baby--can be . . . really tough. Really tough. But you know what's something I do when I receive feedback that stings, or a review that hits me in the gut? I smile. I thank God. You know why? Because in my head, a one-star review means I finally made it. Someone who didn't like my story read it and gave me their honest opinion. Yes, it hurts. Yes, it can be hard to get over. But I'm still so, so grateful.


REMINDER #6 | A FIVE-STAR REVIEW IS NOT THE END-ALL BE-ALL


*cough* Guilty. The first good review I got, I totally celebrated. I let it go to my head. "Someone gave me a five-star review! I'm the best author everrrrr!!!" Biggest. Lie. Ever. I am not the best author ever. (But can y'all guess Who is? 😏😉) Five-star reviews are great! You did it! But don't do what I did. Don't give yourself the glory. Give it to God.





REMINDER #7 | REJECTIONS ARE A PART OF LIFE. DON'T LET THEM SCARE YOU


I know this person who is really good writer. I keep encouraging her to publish . . . but she said she won't because she doesn't want to get rejected. It makes me so sad every single time I hear someone say that they don't want to try for fear of rejection or failing.


You have to learn to take rejection not as an indication of personal failing but as a wrong address. ~Ray Bradbury

Remember, the pain of rejection is nothing compared to the pain of regret. ~Matthew Hussey

Most fears of rejection rest on the desire for approval from other people. Don't base your self-esteem on their opinions. ~Harvey Mackay


REMINDER #8 | DON'T TRY TO WRITE LIKE EVERYBODY ELSE


Too often, I see excited new writers saying, "I'm trying to write more like [Insert author name], and I think it will help me write better!" . . . my darling, I have news for you. Following someone else's writing style/routine will not make you a better writer. In fact, it can actually harm you by crippling your ability to find your own style--your own voice. Don't try to like like J.R.R. Tolkein, or think that following Sara Ella's writing routine will guarantee a best-seller (*cough* guilty *cough*). Write like you.


REMINDER #9 | IT'S OKAY TO TAKE A BREAK


Y'all have no clue how often I see people asking, "Am I a failure if I don't write every day?" or "Is it okay not to write every day?" or "I have writers' block, I must be the worst writer ever."


Stop. Just, stop.


Take a breath. Hold it. Release. Repeat after me:

It. Is. Okay. To. Take. A. Break.


One more time:

It. Is. Okay. To. Take. A. Break.


Okay? Taking a break is not a sign of failure. In fact, it shows intentionality. Taking a break from something that takes a lot of creative energy shows that you are intentional about your health and the quality of what you put it. Trust me--even the greats take breaks.





That's it for today's post, y'all! Now go take a break. ;)


What was your favourite reminder? Should I do more posts like these is the future (i.e.: reminder for readers/bloggers/reviewers/etc.)? What is something you think SHOULD have been on the list? I'd love to know! <3


Cheers!


Recent Posts

See All

11 comentários


Convidado:
12 de set. de 2023

This was so, so, helpful for me!! #2 and #4 were exactly what I needed to hear today :)

Curtir
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
18 de set. de 2023
Respondendo a

Ah, I'm so glad!!

Curtir

Convidado:
10 de set. de 2023

Thanks so much Deigan! I really needed to read this post today! The two reminders that stuck out to me the most was about taking rejections and taking a break! They spoke volumes my friend! Thank you a million times for this very important reminder!!!💛💛💛

Curtir
D. Marie
D. Marie
11 de set. de 2023
Respondendo a

Aw, thank you so much! I'm really happy you enjoyed it!! <33

Curtir

shaysscribbles
09 de set. de 2023

Yeah... I needed this post. 😂 All of these reminders were spot on. Especially that last one. My current WIP takes a lot of my mental energy and can be very draining because of topics and themes it addresses. I absolutely love writing it and can go several days to a week writing every day in a row. But then I also keep going a solid week without touching it. I've been having to learn that that's okay. It's needed. I would rather take a break then either push myself to utter exhaustion, or write words that were sub par--that could have been better if I'd waited to write that scene. Thanks for this post, Deigan!! I really loved it!…

Curtir
shaysscribbles
11 de set. de 2023
Respondendo a

🤗💙🤗💙


Thanks so much!! 😄 This is just the post I'm looking for for next Monday! 🤗💙

Curtir

Ava Coulter
Ava Coulter
08 de set. de 2023

Oh, Deigan, this encouraged me so much! Especially what you said about taking your time with your book. I have been working on the same novel for two years now. Thank you so so much for writing this post! I needed these reminders. <33 (And I would love to see more posts like this in the future ;))

Curtir
D. Marie
D. Marie
11 de set. de 2023
Respondendo a

Aw, thank you so much Ava! I'm so glad you liked it! <3 (Ah, lovely! I shall be adding these to my posting schedule then! 😊)

Curtir

Convidado:
08 de set. de 2023

I love this post, Deigan! Such a great reminder about not rushing to finish a book. I definitely tend to rush... and also not take breaks. I'm going to be more intentional about this now, though (:

--Leah Grace

thegracehaus.com

Curtir
D. Marie
D. Marie
11 de set. de 2023
Respondendo a

Aw, thank you so much, Leah! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! <3

Curtir
Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page