top of page

Hopeful Romantics and Otherwise | My Favourite Book Tropes


What's one thing that every book has in common? Characters? Covers? . . . Words? Yes, yup, and yeppers.


But what's something else that all books have? That people look for in a book often times? Some people call them buzz words. I — and most of the rest of the writing world — calls them tropes.


There are tons of them in literature, movies, poetry even! And they are pretty important a lot of the times when it comes to influencing a reader (that's you!) in buying a book, or even adding it to Goodreads. It's also why a lot of times, authors do pages like this to encourage the purchase of their book babies:


(Which, just saying, is going to be a great collection. 😉

Keep a look out for M. L. Milligan's story in particular.)


Plus, tell me I'm not the only person who sees tropes like "royalty" or "friends to lovers" and clicks the "Add to TBR" button. 👀 Soooo on that note, here's a list of my absolute favouritest tropes in the world. 😁 Enjoy! (And please feel free to drop some book recs in the comments if you think I'd love them.)





1 | FRIENDS-TO-LOVERS

Talk about a buzz word. 😆 If someone says this trope anywhere near my hearing range, you can bet I'm going to at least look into the book.


Examples: I Don't Dance by Jessica Wheaton, Emma by Jane Austen, Love Blind by Angie Thompson


2 | ENEMIES TO LOVERS

If there's one thing I love more than friends to lovers . . . yeah, it's enemies to lovers. Which apparently isn't a very shared opinion. 👀


Examples: We Could be Villains by Megan McCullough, The Wonderland Trials by Sara Ella (although this is more of an adversaries to lovers. 😉), A Threat and a Promise by Angie Thompson, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen





3 | FOUND FAMILY

*sniffs happily* Don't ask me why, but this trope is super close to my heart, and I just adore it. <33


Examples: The Wonderland Trials by Sara Ella, Bound by Victoria Lynn, Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery, Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers


4 | HIDDEN IDENTITY

*rubs hand together* Yes, I'm a nerd and I know it. 😇 This trope, though! There aren't enough books with this trope. 😒


Examples: The Curious Realities Duology by Sara Ella, The Ascendance Trilogy by Jennifer Nielsen, The Tales of Tarsurella by Olivia Lynn Jarmusch, Picture Perfect Boyfriend by Becky Dean





5 | AMNESIA

Because we need more book with amnesia cases. evil villain cackles


Examples: Once I Knew by Victoria Lynn, All Fall Down by Ally Carter, My Name is Anastasia by P.D. Atkerson


6 | COTTAGECORE

Because I need a moment to rave about how much I love cottagecore. 🥰 And yes, I am considering it a trope because #facts. 😇


Examples: Once I Knew by Victoria Lynn, Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery, Treasure for Debby by Amy Wentworth Stone, Regal Hearts: Season One by Olivia Lynn Jarmusch, The Tale of Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter





7 | PROTECTOR

Because we all need books with protectors in our lives. <3


Examples: Shattered Reflections by Madisyn Carlin, Bound by Victoria Lynn, Cannons Before Dawn by Kristiana Gregory, The Revolution by Olivia Lynn Jarmusch





And that's it for today! I hope y'all enjoyed this post, because I certainly enjoyed going back through my Goodreads shelves and looking for books! Also, if you guys want to follow me and stalk my bookshelves, here's the link to my Goodreads account! 😁


What was your favourite trope that I mentioned? Is there one I forgot? Any book recs for the tropes I did mention? I'd love to know! <3

Cheers!


Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page