top of page

Dust by Kara Swanson



Title: Dust

Author: Kara Swanson

Genre: Contemporary Fantasy

My rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Blurb:


The truth about Neverland is far more dangerous than a fairy tale.


Claire Kenton believes the world is too dark for magic to be real—since her twin brother was stolen away as a child. Now Claire's desperate search points to London... and a boy who shouldn't exist.


Peter Pan is having a beastly time getting back to Neverland. Grounded in London and hunted by his own Lost Boys, Peter searches for the last hope of restoring his crumbling island: a lass with magic in her veins.


The girl who fears her own destiny is on a collision course with the boy who never wanted to grow up. The truth behind this fairy tale is about to unravel everything Claire thought she knew about Peter Pan—and herself.



Oh, this book... *cracks knuckles*.

I had never read much fantasy before this. Just one other book. But I'd always loved the Peter Pan story, so when I heard that Kara wrote a Peter Pan sequel... I had to read it! This book was nothing like I expected, and everything I hoped for! I was intrigued from the first chapter, and it immediately sucked me and, and was like, "I want to own your heart." And I let it.

Plot: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Okay, basic plot. Claire Kenton is looking for her brother. Peter Pan can't fly. Simple, right? Yeah, not even close. Just bringing up the world of Neverland creates a whole problem all in itself. And when you add that Claire hates the infamous Peter Pan, that stews up some tension, to say the least!


“You were created for more than to bear the weight of your shadows- but you have to choose to no longer let them define you. You have to choose to let the light shine through the shattered pieces.” ~Dust, Kara Swanson.

Characters:

- Peter - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Oh, this boy just breaks my heart! He is written so well! He is a little selfish—and well, childish—in the beginning, but that is Peter's character arc. But still. He is hilarious, and spunky, and literally the best guy in the whole book!


- Claire - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Ahhh, Claire!! This poor dear. She struggles with anxiety and is totally an introvert (Am I the only one in that boat... *raises hand*), but she is so, so devoted to her brother, and is fiercely loyal to those she loves.


- Tigerlily - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Oh, man... this book wouldn't be complete without this girl! She is like the older sister Peter never had. She totally keeps him in check. I don't think Peter would still be alive if it wasn't for this fierce tribal princess.


- Captain James Hook - ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Can we just skip over this guy? Please? No? Ugh, okay fine *rolls eyes*. I never thought anyone could make me hate Hook any more than I already hated the villian... yeah, famous last words. Kara totally crafted him as the ultimate pirate captain. Swishing red coattails and shiny hook and all.

“A girl of stardust and shadow, who chooses to let light heal the broken pieces.” ~ Dust, Kara Swanson

Romance: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ The romance was very beautiful, and I loved it! However, there were two kisses (*spoiler* between Peter and Claire *end spoiler*), several times they held hands, and romantic thoughts between the two characters. Claire had several romantic feelings (*spoiler* like wanting to kiss Peter and feeling flushed when they touched *end spoiler*), and (*spoiler* Peter and Claire *end spoiler*) danced together.


Content Warnings: A character, (*spoiler* Claire *end spoiler*), jumped out a window; it wasn't meant to be suicide, but it could be taken like that. Mention of pubs and drinking. Possibly violent descriptions. Several fights. Some death. And there is a little bit of magic, and several mentions of Pixies and Pixie Dust, and Fairies and Sprites. ;)


Age Range: I'd personally say 12+, but take everything with a grain of salt. Kara does everything in a very gentle way, but some descriptions may be possibly frightening (*spoiler* like when Peter thinks about when Tinkerbell dies *end spoiler*)


My Thoughts: This book was a beautiful, fantastical, whimsy-filled book. All through the novel was sprinkled beautiful nuggets of faith, trust, and pixie dust.


"Where can I get this awesome book?":


And then check out Kara's website! (Ain't I just on it?) -> Kara Swanson <-


Well, that's all for today, friend! I hope to see you reading this soon! *wink*

Tallyho!

Deigan













Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Bethani Shaffer
Bethani Shaffer
Nov 03, 2022

The Heirs Of Neverland books are two of my favorites!

Like
Deigan Marie
Deigan Marie
Nov 03, 2022
Replying to

Oh, that is so cool! 💙 I have yet to read Shadow, but I adored Dust!

Like
Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page