top of page

A Day in My Life: Independence Day!



Happy late Fourth of July, y'all! <333


I have been waiting for the Fourth ALL. YEAR. It's one of my favorite holidays of all time. And we usually do a lot of fun stuff each year. This year was no exception. And, because it was such a lovely day, I thought it would be fun to present to you a day in my life!





THE MORNING


🧨6:00 - Cannon wake-up call

Our town does this every year, and it freaks me out every time. XD This year, I coulda swore we were in the middle of an air raid. 🤣 They usually let it go off six times, but this year there was five and a dud. 👀


🧨7:30 - Actually got out of bed I went to bed early on account of a headache the night before, and I wanted to have a little more sleep before preparing for the day ahead. *nods wisely*


🧨9:00-10:30 - Watched BookTube

My parents and my brother left on a bike ride before the parade, and so my sister and I retreated to our parents bedroom and watched Lindsey fromBFCG for a while. 😊


🧨🧨11:00 - Le Parade!!

We legit got there just as it was starting. I kept stealing candy from my brother. 😆 *digs into stash* Snickers anybody?





THE AFTERNOON


🧨12:00 - Water balloon warrrr!!

Hehe, okay. So. My brother and I had filled up all of our red, white, and blue balloons and were trying to drag my sister outside. Finally, we triumphed! Then, just as we were walking out the back door, we were AMBUSHED by our parents! They had stolen half of our balloons and were executing a surprise attack! Well, we couldn't have that. Us siblings grabbed balloons and laid it into them! . . . Too bad my dad is such a good pitcher. He kept dodging us. 😆 I did end up getting to sneak behind him and my mom and pelt them with, about, two water balloons. 🤭 Soon, all the balloons wer used up, and there was colored latex everywhere.


I.


Was.


Soaked! 🤣


But it was a blast. 😎😋


🧨1:00 - 2:00 ish - Baking time!

The whole family pitched in and helped my mom make a delicious einkorn cake!


🧨2:00 - Ice cream!

I made some delicious vanilla bean ice cream to go with the cake. I was kind of nervous, because, if you know me, you know I'm dairy intolerant. So I was a little worried. But it turned out all fine in the end!


🧨3:00 - Bookshelf!

I had the idea to try and make a red, white, and blue shelf on my bookshelf . . . I succeeded! *cheers* Here's a few photos . . .

My bookshelf is still a mess . . . I have a stack of books on the floor. 👀 (And yes, to those of you who were wondering, I organize my books by rainbow! 😁)





EVENING TIME


🧨5:30/6:00 - Dinnerrrr!

We had a lovely barbeque for this year's dinner. Had a nice ol' grease fire too. *nods* Don't worry, we are all okay. And the burgers were delicious. 😋


🧨6:30 - Cake decorating!

My sister and I leveled off the cake that Mom made earlier today and frosted it and decorated it with strawberries and blueberries to look like the US Flag!! It was so fun and really pretty. 😁


Also, around this time, I did something really cool and did red, white, and blue dots under my eyes with chalk markers. It was fun, and I got my sister to do it, and she did war paint on my little brother. It was awesome.


🧨7:00 - Dessert and show time

We cut up the cake and scooped out the ice cream and hunkered down together to watch Granite Flats and eat together. It was so fun, and the show was amazing (let me know if you've seen it before!)


🧨8:30 - Getting ready for fireworks!

We all bundled up and put on our long sleeves and pants to guard against the mosquitoes and gathered up all the sparklers and pop-its and glow sticks. We had heard two different sources as to when they started, one saying 8:45, the other saying 9:00. So, we decided to leave around 8:30-ish to go to our spot. *cough* Yeah, that didn't happen. 😆 We ended up getting out of our house at 8:50. 👀 But do not worry, we were in time! We got all situated, settled down in the back of our truck, and then . . . waited. And waited, and waited, and waited. We waited for about . . . oh, 25 minutes. And then . . .


🧨9:00 - FIREWORKS!!!!!

The first one was shot off! Aaaah, they were all SO lovely and so pretty. I wish I had taken some pictures, but I totally spaced it. 😶 They were about half-way through the show when . . . a fire broke out on the side of the mountain. 🔥😱🎆 Thankfully, the fire department is the one who puts on the firework show every year, and even though it get a little large, they were able to get it under control. *cheers*


We were all guessing as to how they would fire off the grand finale, with everyone working on containing the fire, and thought it might now be as grand . . . but, oh boy, we were so wrong. The grand finale was AMAZING. Firework after firework went off and exploded in the sky in perfect synchrony. As they thundered in the sky, tears sprang to my eyes as I thought of all the people who died all those years ago for us. For me. So I could watch fireworks, so I could be safe to walk outside, so I could be free. It was such a lovely realization. One that I will never forget.


🧨9:30 - Sparklers and Pop-its

After the firework show, we all piled back into the truck and headed back home to light out sparklers and throw pop-its at each other. Now, here's the sad part: I love sparklers. Love, love, loooooove them. I've lit them and ran around with them since I was knee-high to a grasshopper. But, for some reason, this year . . .


I burnt myself.


Like, seared my skin. *winces* It hurts. A lot. The skin around it is white, and it looks like I just stuck the tip of a sparkler into my pinky finger. It feels a lot better now, thank goodness, but wow. That hurt. But, my mom bandaged it up and it felt better.


🧨10:00 - Bed!

Finally, finally we all finished getting ready and hopped in bed. The day was so much fun--despite the burn 😜--and I had a blast. I fell asleep almost instantly. The perfect end to a great day. <3





And that's it for today! I hope y'all enjoyed that lil' post/day in my life. I had a lot of fun writing it!


How was your Fourth of July? Sparklers or Pop-Its? ;) Aren't fireworks AMAZING? How is your summer going so far? I'd love to know! <3


Cheers!


Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page