top of page

I May Have Done Something Illegal . . . | Finally Fall Book Tag + My Autumn TBR



Happy October, friends!


Can you believe fall is finally here? (Pun intended. 😉) I've been waiting since, oh, last fall for autumn to make its appearance again. And now it's here! *happy dance*


Before I get to the lovely tag I'm doing today, a moment to explain the title of this blog post: "I May Have Done Something Illegal . . . " *cough*


I first saw this tag over on the lovely Celestria's YouTube channel. I watched it, loved the questions, and thought, "Hey, what a great tag! I should totally do that on my blog!" . . . Yeah, one problem. I wasn't actually tagged, nor do I have a YouTube channel I could've done it on if I were tagged to begin with.


But I'm doing it anyway!


*innocent smile*


(If I suddenly disappear off the face of the earth, just assume I'm being held by the police somewhere. 😉)


And anyway! On to the questions . . .





1 | IN FALL, THE AIR IS CRIP AND CLEAR: A BOOK WITH A VIVID SETTING!


I have read so many books with absolutely beautiful settings, but the first one that popped into my mind for this one is actually Matched by Ally Condie. I read this book back in the summer, and one of the things I loved about it was how immersive the story-world was. I always knew where I stood (mentally, of course) and could totally picture every scene!


2 | NTURE IS BEAUTIFUL . . . BUT ALSO DYING: A BOOK THAT IS BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN, BUT ALSO DEALS WITH A HEAVY TOPIC LIKE LOSS OR GREIF.


First off, I don't typically like to read books that deal with heavy topics. Call me a wimp if you want to, but I have a very "Alicey" imagination, in that it goes wild whenever I read - and I really don't like to have it going absolutely wild with imagining the pain that characters go through. *deep breath* That being said, I recently read Bound by Victoria Lynn, and y'all . . . I was bawling my eyes out. Not even kidding right now. This book doesn't deal with hard topics in the sense of grief, but rather the foster system and the scars that a lot of foster children have. Adoption is something I'm very passionate about, so that made it all the more heart-wrenching.





3 | FALL IS BACK-TO-SCHOOL SEASON: A NON-FICTION BOOK THAT TOUGHT YOU SOMETHING NEW.


I'm going to have to go with Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris . . . mainly because I don't read a whole ton of non-fiction books. *grins sheepishly* But I will also say that this book is so good. SO so good. It's definitely a book I'd recommend to everyone. 😊


4 | IN ORDER TO KEEP WARM, IT'S GOOD TO SPEND SOME TIME WITH THE PEOPLE WE LOVE: A FICTIONAL FAMILY/HOUSEHOLD/FRIEND-GROUP THAT YOU'D LIKE TO BE A PART OF.


😁 Not to brag or anything, but I'm a part of a pretty epic household and friend-group. (Love you guys at the Table. 😉) BUT if I had to choose . . . I'd probably go with Team Heart from The Wonderland Trials by Sara Ella. *shocked gasps* I know, I managed to hold off on this one till question four! 😆 But SERIOUSLY. Madi? Jack? Knave, Willow, Sophia, Alice? Chess? *squeals* Yes, please!5 | THE COLORFUL LEAVES ARE PILING UP ON THE GROUND: A PILE OF FALL-COLORED SPINES!


Oooooh, this is such a good question! So, I present to you, my stack!:




6. FALL IS THE PERFECT TIME FOR SOME STORYTELLING BY THE FIRESIDE: A BOOK WHERE SOMEONE IS TELLING A STORY.


🤔 I had to think pretty hard for this one, for some reason. But, I mean, aren't all stories a book where the author is telling a story? 😏 No? Okay. *thinks harder* Okay, I actually have two for this one: The Winter of Red Snow and Cannons at Dawn, the Revolutionary War Diaries of Abigail Jane Stewart by Kristiana Gregory. A diary totally counts as a story someone is telling, right? (Plus, I mean, Willie. 🤩)


7 | THE NIGHTS ARE GETTING DARKER: A DARK AND CREEPY READ.


Confession time (again 😆): I don't actually read creepy books. *shrugs* I really just have no interest in reading anything dark or possibly scary. Like I said, I have a very . . . imaginative imagination, so I don't like to put my brain through something like creepy books because of what I know it will do to me. 😂 But all that said, there is a book that I have heard some classify as creepy/mysterious, and that is The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart. (Or, in German, Die Geheime Benedikt-Gesellschaft. 😉)





8 | THE DAYS ARE GETTING COLDER: A SHORT, HEARTWARMING READ THAT COULD WARM UP SOMEBODY'S COLD AND RAINY DAY.


Okay, this one was easy: Paige Torn by Erynn Mangum. This book is my go-to read for a pick-me-up. There's just something so cozy and warm about both Erynn's writing style and the story itself that manages to make my day every single time I read it. 🥰


9 | FALL RETURNS EVERY YEAR: AN OLD FAVORITE THAT YOU'D LIKE TO RETURN TO SOON.


Hehe, I'm gonna kinda cheat and reuse an answer from a previous question: The Mysterious Benedict Society. Every time I read it, I get through it faster. (Which is saying something because that book is two inches thick - not even kidding right now. 😆) And it's been almost a year since I reread it! *gosp* Yup, that definitely goes on my list. 🤭





10 | FALL IS THE PERFECT TIME FOR COZY READING NIGHTS: FAVOURITE COZY READING "ACCESSORIES"!


Ooh, okay, I loooove this question! I don't often get to "get cosy" and just read, but when I can, it always makes me feel so aesthetic and lovely. 🥰 Here's a list! 😜

  1. A book (I mean, duh . . . 😂)

  2. A candle, fall scented or otherwise. 😉

  3. A cup of tea that matches the mood of the novel.

  4. A warm blanket fresh from the dryer 🥰

  5. My three sizes too big sweater

  6. Ambiance that also matches the mood of the novel.

11 | TAG OTHERS!


Ah, yes . . . the hardest part of any blog tag . . . tagging others. 😂 So, let's go this:


If you enjoyed this tag and would like to do this,

whether on your blog, newsletter, etc.,

feel free to! <3





And because I thought it would be fun and appropriate, here's a quick Autumn TBR! Just a quick note, some of the books I have already read this autumn, so I'm going to create a leetle key for you to keep track of which is which and what is whose. 😊


✨ - have read | 💞 - have yet to read


1 | 💞 Juniper Bean Resorts to Murder by Gracie Ruth Mitchell

2 | 💞 Anne of the Island by L.M. Montgomery

3 | ✨ The Looking-Glass Illusion by Sara Ella

4 | ✨ Ms. Buncle's Book by D.E. Stevenson

5 | 💞 Words on Fire by Jennifer Nielsen

6 | 💞 Fawkes by Nadine Brandes

7 | 💞 The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

8 | 💞 Dearest Josephine by Caroline George

10 | 💞 The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Aurthur Conan Doyle

11 | ✨ The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

12 | ✨ Caddie Woodlawn by Caro Ryrie Brink






And that's it for today's post! I hope you guys had fun reading it - I had a lot of fun answering all the questions. 😊


What was your favourite question? What was your favourite answer? Who else is happy it's finally fall? (🙋‍♀️) Did you recognize any of the books from my answers or my TBR? What books are on your TBR? I'd really love to know! <3


Cheers!


Image by Matias North
Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a teen writer from western USA with a passion for words. When I'm not talking to myself in a British accent, I'm snuggling with my cat, drinking tea, or dancing in the kitchen. Welcome to the blog, and I hope you stick around! 

Keep updated on my latest posts!

Thanks for joining the tribe!

bottom of page